How to delete a WhatsApp message

Have you sent someone a message via WhatsApp, but do you actually regret it right away? Fortunately, there is an option within the chat app that allows you to revoke your sent message. If you're lucky, you'll be on time and the recipient will never see what you've written.

How can I delete a WhatsApp message?

  • Keep your finger on your message

  • Click on the menu that appears at the top

  • Click here on the trash can

  • There are now two options Delete for myself and Delete for everyone, with the second option, the recipient will no longer be able to see the message.

delete WhatsApp messages

First make sure you have installed the latest version of WhatsApp. Now send that person a clumsy message, a wrong photo, an embarrassing spelling mistake or an app that you actually meant for someone else.

Now hold your finger on the message for a while and wait for a menu to appear at the top. Then press the trash can. Previously there were two options: Delete for myself and Cancel. You will now find a third option within WhatsApp for a message that is less than seven minutes old: Delete for everyone. Click on it and both you and the recipient will only see a notification saying 'You have deleted this message' or 'This message has been deleted'.

Delete after 7 minutes

When the 7 minutes have elapsed, you can in principle use the option Delete for everyone no longer choose. There is, however, a way to fool your phone, so that the option remains available. Turn off your phone's internet connection, kill the WhatsApp app and set the time on your phone to a date and time before sending your message. Open WhatsApp and delete a message as we described. You'll find that you can delete messages that you sent more than seven minutes ago. As soon as you are connected to the internet again, the message will be deleted.

Similarly, photos and videos can also be deleted. They therefore do not end up under the heading Media from whoever you sent the photo to in the first place. iOS users who automatically save received media to their Photos folder will still receive the videos and images that have been sent, regardless of whether the message in question containing the media has been removed from the chat.

Although you can delete a message, that doesn't mean that the other person hasn't read the message. It goes without saying that you want to delete your messages as soon as possible. You won't get a notification if you failed to delete the message for everyone.

Recent Posts